If your site is live to the public and you would like to make design/functional changes to the store without having your customers see the process (or possibly have your changes interfere with their shopping experience) you can temporarily close the store.
By closing the store, you can create an ‘under construction’ page that the public will see when they go to your domain.
Furthermore, you can limit access to the store so only you and your staff can see the site during the designing and functionality edits.
To close the store:
- Go to Settings ->Design ->Store Status
- Check the Close Store Radio Button.
- Create the message you would like your customers to see in the WYSIWYG editor, then click Save.
You can also select to only close the checkout portions of your site by selecting “Close Checkout.” This will still allow your customers to browse your products and site in general but will place your Closed Store Message if the customer tries to proceed to checkout.
Please also note that the store will be viewable to you if you attempt to view it under the following two conditions:
A: You are currently logged into the store’s 3dcart Online Store Manager.
B: You are viewing the store from the same browser that is logged in to the 3dcart Online Store Manager.
To view the store fully – in all instances – from your own network/Internet connection, follow the steps outlined below.
Grant Access To Your IP
Once you close the store, you will want to grant access to your connection’s IP address so that you can see the changes you make to the store while it remains closed to the public.
To do this, click the “Add My IP” button under the Grant Access To These IPs section, and the system will automatically populate your connection’s IP into the field.
If your connection’s IP address changes at any point, you may be blocked from viewing the site. However, you can still log into the administration sections and reset your IP. Closing the store only affects the front-end portion of your site.